Privacy Settings
In the Account Privacy section of your account page, you have the ability to restrict or withdraw consent to the following types of personal data being processed about you:
- For listeners of the free service - Data we use to play you ads that we feel will be relevant to you (ie tailored ads).
- For those who signed up to Spotify via Facebook or who connected their account to Facebook. Your Facebook display name, Facebook profile picture, and Facebook Friends that Facebook shares with us. This does not include the data required for logging in via Facebook.
Notification Settings
When you create a Spotify account you are, by default, opted-in to receiving the following notifications via email and on your mobile device. But you can change this at any time through your Notification Settings:
- Product News – Info on how to get started on Spotify, details of new features, and the latest product updates on Spotify.
- Spotify News and Offers - Info on news, promotions, and events picked for you.
- Recommend Music - Info on music we think you’ll like.
- New Music - Info about fresh new tracks from artists that you follow or might like.
- Playlist Updates - Updates for playlists you follow.
- Concert Notifications - Updates about live shows by artists you like, in places near you.
- Artist Updates - Info about the artists you listen to and recommendations for the artists we think you’ll like.
App Settings
In the desktop app, click the arrow in the top-right corner, then Settings, to control the following:
Connect to Facebook
- Connect your Spotify account to Facebook - By selecting this option you can log into Spotify with your Facebook account.
Sharing your playlists and activity
- Automatically make new playlists public - New playlists you create will automatically be made public. You can turn this off at any time.
- Private Session - If you enable Privacy Session, the music you’re listening to will not be visible in your Recently Played, will not be published to Friend Activity, and your Top Artists will not be updated. By default Private Session is not enabled.
Note: If turned on, the Private Session ends when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity. - Publish Activity - Your listening activity will be published to Friend Activity. You can turn this off at any time.
- Show my Recently Played Artists - Your Recently Played Artists will automatically be made public. You can turn this off at any time.