martinleben · GitHub

Feature description

An advanced per-folder flag named Announce ignored files and directories as deleted or similar with default value disabled.
When enabled, a device which notices that some directories or files are:

  1. ignored and
  2. in the global state

... would do this: Act as if those directories or files has been deleted by removing them from the global state and announcing that they have been deleted.
This has been discussed here: https://forum.syncthing.net/t/send-only-receive-only-not-removing-orphaned-files/25487/17

Problem or use case

Use case example:

The home directory /home/<user> is shared by a laptop and accepted on a NAS.
The purpose is to have a redundant copy on the NAS of essential stuff, which in practice means files and directories which are not ignored on the laptop.

Problem:

Every time I have edited the stignore file on the laptop, the set of files and directories on the NAS does no longer match the set of non-ignored files and directories on the laptop.

Alternatives or workarounds

Currently, each time the .stignore has been adjusted on the laptop, I have to:

  • remove the folder from the NAS
  • add it again
  • wait for the local scan to finish
  • wait for the comparison to take place
  • then do I get the ‘Revert local changes’ button, which I press. This will cause the content of the share on the NAS to be identical to the non-ignored stuff on the laptop.

I would like to not have to go through this process every time I adjust .stignore on the laptop.

Read the original on github.com ↗